This girl can code?

At the moment the jury is still out on that question, after all it’s only been a week since I began my journey to learn how to code.

Instead, let me explain how I got started on this journey.

After several years dedicated almost solely to the growth and development of two human beings – otherwise known as being a stay-at-home mum – I was weighing up my options for returning to work.  My previous jobs (Online Marketeer/Assistant to CEO of Startup/Consultant at a major international firm/Private English Teacher) no longer felt like they ticked the right boxes – either in terms of providing the challenges and motivation I was craving or because the job prospects they offered seemed wholly incompatible with my desire to return to work and remain an active presence in my kids’ day-to-day lives.

It seemed like time for a radical career rethink.

Scanning job postings, remote-working possibilities, job trends and forecasts it was clear that Web Developer, Programmer, Software Engineer (or any other versions of the same) came up time and time again. But was that really something I could do?

I think I have quite a natural gift for languages in general, speaking a couple fluently and having dabbled in others and so programming is just another (or more specifically many other) language(s), right? I convinced myself at an early age I was not very good at maths, and whilst I was never destined to be a great mathematician, truth be told, I was actually quite good at maths, I just had some pretty awful teachers and a really bad case of self-doubt. I think this insecurity is something which a lot of people, especially women, feel when it comes to work or jobs, and perhaps even more so in the tech fields. I myself tend to undersell my abilities, all too aware of my shortcomings and not vocal enough in singing my own praises.

However, I am fortunate enough to have a very great man in my life who is my champion and had no problems in seeing me for my worth. In his words, “Eres cuadriculada, te encantan las reglas y la lógica y sabes aprender idiomas – claro que puedas!” (which translates to “You are square-headed, you love rules and logic and you know how to learn languages – of course you can do it!”).

So with that much needed push I took my first step along a journey which I hope will turn the self-doubting “This girl can code?” into a confident YES! This girl CAN code!

Or to put it another way: This girl <em> can </em> code 😉

 

Leave a Reply

